Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-57 Murray and Calloway County Mental Health Retardation Association Records: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Murray and Calloway County Mental Health Retardation Association Records

Collection Title: Murray and Calloway County Mental Health Retardation Association Records

 

Series Number: MS10-57

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on June 25, 2010.

 

Date Listed: June 25, 2010

 

Date Span: 1970-1978

 

Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 2 legal size file folders; 30 items.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence and records.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Organized by type of record; Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: The Murray and Calloway County Mental Health Retardation Association was founded in June of 1970 as a non-profit organization responsible for the operation of the Murray and Calloway County Mental Health and Mental Retardation Center at Murray, Kentucky. Prior to the summer of 1970, the mental health clinic for the county was located at the Murray-Calloway County Hospital. In December of 1983, the Board of Directors voted to rename the facility the Work Activities Training Center for the Handicapped. Since 1984 it has been known as WATCH, Inc.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of correspondence and business records associated with the Murray and Calloway County Mental Health Retardation Association of Murray, Kentucky from 1970 to 1978. The collection contains the constitution and by-laws, board membership and committee lists along with the correspondence received by the Association. The records also include personnel policies, job descriptions, employee salaries, admission policies, expense reports and other financial records of the Murray and Calloway County Mental Health and Mental Retardation Center.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Murray and Calloway County Mental Health Retardation Association (Murray, Ky.)

Murray and Calloway County Mental Health and Mental Retardation Center (Murray, Ky.)

Mental health – Kentucky – Murray.

Mental health – Kentucky – Calloway County.

Mental health – Societies, etc.

Box List:

1. Murray-Calloway County Mental Health Center Records Correspondence 1970-1976

2.  Murray-Calloway County Mental Health Center Records 1970-1976

 

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152