Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-56 International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, Local No. 816 Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, Local No. 816 Papers

Collection Title: International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, Local No. 816 Papers

 

Series Number: MS10-56

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on June 24, 2010.

 

Date Listed: June 24, 2010

 

Date Span: 1949-1950

 

Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 4 legal size file folders; 60 items.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence and legal documents.

 

Condition of Material: Good with minor foxing and fading due to aging and improper storage..

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers was founded in 1890 as the Electrical Wiremen and Linemen’s Union. In 1891, the organization changed the name to the National Brotherhood of Electrical Worker. Eight years later the name was officially changed to the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers. The local chapter of the union still exists and is based in Paducah, Kentucky.  

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of correspondence, attorney notes and legal documents related to labor disputes between local contractors and the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, Local No. 816 of Paducah, Kentucky from 1949 to 1950. The collection contains complaints, charges, motions, stipulations, affidavits, court orders and correspondence amongst legal counsel for both the union and individual contractors. Included with the papers is a collective bargaining agreement between the Magnavox Company of Kentucky and the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, Local No. 816 dated August 29, 1950.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers. Local No. 816 (Paducah, Ky.)

Labor unions – Kentucky – Paducah.

Electric industry workers – Labor unions – Kentucky – Paducah.

Freedland, Joseph Stephen, 1915-

Magnavox Company (Paducah, Ky.)

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152