Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-54 International Association of Machinists, Local Lodge 1627 Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

International Association of Machinists, Local Lodge 1627 Papers

Collection Title: International Association of Machinists, Local Lodge 1627 Papers

 

Series Number: MS10-54

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on June 24, 2010.

 

Date Listed: June 24, 2010

 

Date Span: 1960

 

Size of Collection: 0.25 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 legal half size document case; 70 items.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence and legal documents.

 

Condition of Material: Good with foxing and fading due to aging and improper storage.

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: The International Association of Machinists was organized in 1888 as the Order of United Machinist and Mechanical Engineers. The name was changed to the International Association of Machinists in 1890.  In 1954, the union again changed its name to the International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers. After the merger with aerospace workers, the International Association of Machinists, Local Lodge 1627 of Paducah, Kentucky became the International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers, District 19 and currently represents over 11,000 railroad workers in the region.  

 

Scope and Content: Collections consists of correspondence and legal documents related to the 1960 strike of the International Association of Machinists, Local 1627 of the Southern Textile Machinery Company at Paducah, Kentucky. The collection contains complaints, motions, affidavits, injunctions, evidence, court orders and correspondence amongst attorneys representing both the union and the Southern Textile Machinery Company from April to December of 1960. Included with the papers are the constitution of the International Association of Machinists, the collective bargaining agreement between the parties and a brief history of the strike.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

International Association of Machinists. Local Lodge 1627 (Paducah, Ky.)

International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers. District 19 (Paducah, Ky.)

Southern Textile Machinery Company (Paducah, Ky.)

Strikes and lockouts – Kentucky – Paducah.

Machinists – Labor unions – Kentucky.

Box List

Box List

1. Legal Documents April, 1960

2. Legal Documents May 1960

3. Legal Documents June, 1960

4. Legal Documents July-December 1960

5. Legal Documents- Miscellaneous No Dates

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152