Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-53 United Brick and Clay Workers of America, Paducah Chapter Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

United Brick and Clay Workers of America, Paducah Chapter Papers

Collection Title: United Brick and Clay Workers of America, Paducah Chapter Papers

 

Series Number: MS10-53

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on June 24, 2010.

 

Date Listed: June 24, 2010

 

Date Span: 1949-1952

 

Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 4 legal size file folder; 60 items.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence and photographs.

 

Condition of Material: Good with foxing and fading due to aging and improper storage.

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: The United Brick and Clay Workers of America were organized in 1901 with former members of the International Alliance of Brick, Tile & Terra Cotta Workers and the Knights of Labor Brick & Terra Cotta Workers. The union merged with the Aluminum Workers International Union in 1982 to form the Aluminum, Brick and Glass Workers International Union, which in turn merged with the United Steelworkers of America in 1997. The Paducah chapter of the Union was organized in 1949.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of correspondence related to the United Brick and Clay Workers of America, Paducah Chapter from 1949 to 1950. The letters and attached documents discuss the organization of the labor union at Paducah Kentucky and a lawsuit brought forth by the union against Sippi Products Incorporated, a subsidiary of Deena Artware, Incorporated. The lawsuit was initiated by Paducah attorney Joseph Stephen Freeland and focuses upon Sippi Products efforts to disrupt the formation of a labor union at their Wickliffe plant. The case was eventually brought before the United States Supreme Court. The collection includes photographs of the Deena Artware plant at Paducah and published legal briefs from 1950 to 1952.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

United Brick and Clay Workers of America, Paducah Chapter

Labor unions – Kentucky – Paducah.

Kentucky – Labor – Trade-unions.

Freeland, Joseph Stephen, 1915-

Sippi Products, Inc. (Wickliffe, Ky.)

Deena Artware, Inc. (Paducah, Ky.)

 

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152