Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-52 Scott Family Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Scott Family Papers

Collection Title: Scott Family Papers

 

Series Number: MS10-52

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on June 22, 2010.

 

Date Listed: June 22, 2010

 

Date Span: 1824-1863

 

Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 legal size file folder; 9 items.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence.

 

Condition of Material: Good, though a few of the photocopies are difficult to decipher.

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: The Scott families of Marshall County, Kentucky and Greene County, Missouri were rural farm owners that lived during the middle and late 19th Century.

 

Scope and Content: Collections consist of nine letters kept by the Scott family of Marshall County, Kentucky from 1824 to 1863. Most of the letters are written from Greene County, Missouri from 1849 to 1863 and discuss family activities, regional events, weather conditions and crop prices. Other letters in the collection include a request for iron by the Empire Iron Works of Trigg County, Kentucky (1853), a deposition from Benjamin Hardin over the sale of a slave (1824), a letter to Sarah Penny of London, England from Lexington, Kentucky discussing American politics and personal relationships (1837) and correspondence referring to property disputes.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Scott family.

Scott, James H., 1820-

Scott, Sarah H., 1823-

Scott, John T., 1809-

Greene County (Mo.) – History.

Calloway County (Ky.)

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152