Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-50 "Nobody Hurt!" Broadside: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

“Nobody Hurt!” Broadside

Collection Title: “Nobody Hurt!” Broadside

 

Series Number: MS10-50

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on June 21, 2010.

 

Date Listed: June 21, 2010

 

Date Span: 1861

 

Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 legal size file folder; 1 item.

 

Type of Material: Broadside.

 

Condition of Material: Fair with minor tears and foxing due to aging and improper storage.

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: The Alabama Beacon of Greensboro, Alabama published broadsides prior to and during the American Civil War.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of a broadside titled “Nobody Hurt!” published on July 29, 1861 by the Alabama Beacon of Greensboro, Alabama in response to the Confederate victory at the Battle of Manassas. The broadside contains lyrics to a song sarcastically denouncing President Abraham Lincoln and the Yankee invasion of the South.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Broadsides – United States – Alabama.

Printed ephemera – United States – Alabama.

Confederate States of America – Poetry.

War poetry, American – Southern States.

United States – History – Civil War, 1861-1865 – Literature and the war.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152