Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-49 Darnall Family Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Darnall Family Papers

Collection Title: Darnall Family Papers

 

Series Number: MS10-49

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Originally processed by Keith M. Heim. The collection was reprocessed by Dieter C. Ullrich on June 21, 2010.

 

Date Listed: June 21, 2010

 

Date Span: 1828-1925

 

Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 2 file folders.

 

Type of Material: Receipts and legal documents.

 

Condition of Material: Fair with some foxing and fading to many of the documents.

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: The Darnall family of Marshall County, Kentucky settled in the southwest part of the county from Caldwell County, Kentucky in 1819. Reverend Henry Darnell was the preacher at Soldier Creek Baptist Church from the 1820s to the 1850s. Philip Darnell was the son of Henry and a prominent farmer in Marshall County.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of receipts and legal documents associated with the Darnall family of Marshall County, Kentucky from 1828 to 1924. Included with the collection is a color postcard of William Mason Memorial Hospital at Murray, Kentucky post stamped 1925.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Darnall family.

Darnall, Henry, 1779-1860

Darnall, Phillip, 1844-1907

Soldier Creek Baptist Church (Marshall County, Ky.)

William Mason Memorial Hospital (Murray, Ky.)

 

Additional Sources: See Histories and Biographies of Ballard, Calloway, Fulton, Graves, Hickman, McCracken and Marshall Counties, Kentucky by J. H. Battle, W. H. Perrin and G. C. Kniffin.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152