Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-39 George Beeler Diary: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

George Beeler Diary

Collection Title: George Beeler Diary

 

Series Number: MS10-39

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on June 15, 2010.

 

Date Listed: June 16, 2010

 

Date Span: 1852-1855

 

Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 legal size file folder; 1 item.

 

Type of Material: Journal.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: George Beeler was a physician who resided at Clinton, Kentucky from 1852 to 1899. He was born in Jefferson County, Kentucky on December 21, 1830. In the fall of 1852, he began attending Clinton Seminary. The following year he commenced the study of medicine with a local physician. From 1854 to 1856, Beeler attended the Kentucky School of Medicine, the Medical Department of Transylvania University and Jefferson Medical College at Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. He graduated from the latter school in the spring of 1856 and returned to Clinton to practice medicine. He died at Clinton on September 9, 1899.

 

Scope and Content: Collection contains a transcript of a diary kept by George Beeler of Clinton, Kentucky from August 11, 1852 to October 26, 1855. The diary reflects upon the daily activities, observations and travels of a medical student during the middle of the 19th Century. Entrees include significant events that occurred in Clinton such as social gatherings, political speeches and community discussions for a proposed railroad.     

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Beeler, George, 1830-1899.        

Clinton Seminary

Clinton (Ky.) – History.

Physicians – Kentucky – Clinton.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152