Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-36 Hazel Academy Sabbath School Ledger: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Hazel Academy Sabbath School Ledger

Collection Title: Hazel Academy Sabbath School Ledger

 

Series Number: MS10-36

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on June 14, 2010.

 

Date Listed: June 14, 2010

 

Date Span: 1905-1906

 

Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 legal size file folder; 1 item.

 

Type of Material: Ledger.

 

Condition of Material: Fair with minor tears and fading due to improper storage.

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: The Hazel Academy was a private school that was established at Hazel, Kentucky at the turn of the 20th Century. The academy was eventually replaced by a public school prior to 1920.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of a ledger produced by the Hazel Academy of Hazel, Kentucky that documents the weekly activities of the Sabbath School from January 7, 1905 to December 8, 1906. The ledger contains minutes of Sunday school meetings and lists of administrators, teachers and students. Along with minutes, there are attendance records and donation amounts given by students. 

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Private schools – Kentucky – Hazel.

Sunday schools – Kentucky – Hazel.

Schools – Kentucky – Calloway County.

Hazel (Ky.) – History.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152