Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-29 Jack E. Fisher Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Jack E. Fisher Papers

Collection Title: Jack E. Fisher Papers
 
Series Number: MS10-29
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on June 9, 2010.
 
Date Listed: June 9, 2010
 
Date Span: 1915-1944.
 
Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes: 1 oversized box.
 
Type of Material: Correspondence, newspaper clippings, photographs and ephemera.
 
Condition of Material: Bad to fair. The bulk of the newspaper clippings are torn and faded due to aging, improper storage and high acid level in the paper and ink.
 
Arrangement: Organized by type of format; Chronological arrangement.
 
Biographical / Historical Information: Jack E. Fisher was born in Benton, Kentucky on March 24, 1884. He attended local public school and studied for one year at Bethel College in Russellville, Kentucky. He began teaching at age nineteen at the Sanders Ridge School in Marshall County. At age twenty, he was the district school director at Canada, Kentucky. He studied law in his spare time and began practicing law in 1905. From 1915 to 1927, he served as the commonwealth attorney for the Second Judicial District of Kentucky and was later elected president of Commonwealth Attorneys’ Association of Kentucky. In 1940, Fisher served as president of the McCracken County Bar Association and was appointed member of the Railroad Commission of Kentucky in 1941. He died at Paducah on September 17, 1966.
 

Scope and Content:  Collection consists of correspondence, newspaper clippings, photographs and ephemera related to the legal and political career of Jack E. Fisher of Paducah, Kentucky from 1915 to 1944. The newspaper clippings contain articles on prominent legal cases and decisions, campaign announcements and his activities as Railroad Commissioner of Kentucky during the early 1940s. The collection also contains speeches, primary ballots, campaign flyers and cards and his concluding remarks made at the murder trial of Harry Tharp. Included with the correspondence are letters from Corporal Herman M. Holland, who was serving with the 12th Balloon Company in France during the First World War, and Senator Alben W. Barkley in 1956.

Subject Headings / Descriptors:
Fisher, Jack E., 1884-1966.
Politicians – Kentucky – Marshall County.
Politicians – Kentucky – Paducah.
Lawyers – Kentucky – Paducah.
Lawyers – Kentucky – Benton.
United States. Army. Balloon Company, 12th.
Railroad Commission of Kentucky.
Benton (Ky.)
Paducah (Ky.)

Box List

Box 1

1.  Correspondence

2.  Ephemera

3. Legal Cases- Newspaper Clippings

4.  Legal Documents- Defense of Harry Tharp

5. Newspaper Clippings- Campaigns and Elections 1915-1943

6. Newspaper Clippings- Railway Commission

7. Newspaper Clippings- Miscellaneous

8. Photographs

9. Speeches

10. Alben W. Barkley Letters 1956

11. Miscellaneous awards and citations, granting of positions

12. Miscellaneous newspaper clippings

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152