Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-27 Woman's Christian Temperance Union of Murray Meeting Minutes: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Woman’s Christian Temperance Union of Murray Meeting Minutes

Collection Title: Woman’s Christian Temperance Union of Murray Meeting Minutes 
 
Series Number: MS10-27
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on June 9, 2010
 
Date Listed: June 9, 2010
 
Date Span: 1970-1977
 
Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes: 1 legal size file folder.
 
Type of Material: Meeting minutes and ephemera.
 
Condition of Material: Good.
 
Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.
 
Biographical / Historical Information: The Woman’s Christian Temperance Union of Murray, Kentucky was established to address the concerns over the destructive power of alcohol and the social problems the disease caused in the community. The organization later promoted abstinence to tobacco and illegal drugs.
 
Scope and Content:  Collection consists of handwritten meeting minutes of the Woman’s Christian Temperance Union of Murray, Kentucky from September of 1970 to December of 1975. The minutes contain brief entries on the number of members present during the meeting and descriptions of program events. Included with the minutes are a directory of district officers in the Kentucky Woman’s Christian Temperance Union (1969-1970) and a few issues of the Kentucky Issue published by the Temperance League of Kentucky (1973-1977).
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
Woman’s Christian Temperance Union (Murray, Ky.)
Temperance – Kentucky – Societies, etc.
Murray (Ky.)

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152