Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-23 Ballance Family Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Ballance Family Papers

Collection Title: Ballance Family Papers

 

Series Number: MS10-23

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on May 25, 2010.

 

Date Listed: May 25, 2010

 

Date Span: 1851-1900

 

Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 2 legal size file folders; 18 items.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence and financial records.

 

Condition of Material: Fair with tears, foxing and fading due to aging and improper storage.

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: The Ballance family is believed to have arrived in Calloway County, Kentucky in the late 1830s from Stewart County, Tennessee. Some members of the family then relocated from Calloway County to Johnson County, Arkansas in 1860.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of correspondence and financial records associated with the Ballance family of Calloway County, Kentucky and Johnson County, Arkansas from 1851 to 1900. The collection contains receipts, promissory notes and land records. Included with the papers is a letter from the Union prison at Camp Morton, Indiana dated June 21, 1862.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Ballance family.

Johnson County (Ark.) – History.

Calloway County (Ky.)

Ballance, Isaiah, 1825-1909

Ballance, William H., 1795-1865

United States – History – Civil War, 1861-1865 – Personal narratives, Confederate.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152