Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-20 Cyrus N. Wise Journal: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Cyrus N. Wise Journal

Collection Title: Cyrus N. Wise Journal

 

Series Number: MS10-20

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Processed by Dieter C. Ullrich on May 24, 2010.

 

Date Listed: May 24, 2010.

 

Date Span: 1864

 

Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 legal size file folder; 1 item.

 

Type of Material: Diary.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: Cyrus N. Wise was a Union soldier serving with Company F of the 96th Ohio Infantry Volunteers. He was born in Knox County, Ohio in 1837. He enlisted in the Union Army in August 7, 1862 at Camp Delaware, Ohio. He participated in the battles of Chickasaw Bayou, Arkansas Post (where he was wounded), Sabine Cross Roads, Cane River, Fort Gaines, Fort Morgan, Spanish Fort, Mobile, Fort Blakely and Whistler. He mustered out of the service at Camp Chase, Ohio on July 7, 1865. He died soon after his return home from dysentery in September of 1865.   

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of a transcription of a journal created by Private Cyrus N. Wise of Company F of the 96th Ohio Infantry Volunteers from January 22, 1864 to December 31, 1864. The journal describes the daily activities of a Union soldier serving in Louisiana, Texas, Arkansas and Alabama during the American Civil War. The journal includes brief accounts of the battles at Sabine Cross Roads, Cane River Crossing and the siege and capture of Fort Gaines and Morgan at Mobile Bay.  

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Wise, Cyrus N.

United States. Army. Ohio Infantry Regiment, 96th (1862-1865)

United States – History – Civil War, 1861-1865 – Personal narratives.

Ohio – History – Civil War, 1861-1865.

Red River Expedition, 1864.

Mobile Bay, Battle of, Ala., 1864.

Fort Gaines (Ala. : Fort)

Fort Morgan (Ala.)

 

Additional Sources: See Roster of the Ninety-Sixth Regiment, Ohio Volunteer Infantry, 1862-1865 by Robert F. Bartlett.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152