Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-17 Edward T. Breathitt Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Edward T. Breathitt Papaers

Collection Title: Edward T. Breathitt Papers

 

Series Number: MS10-17

 

Processed and Cataloged by: No information on original processing recorded.

 

Date Listed: April 23, 2010

 

Date Span: 1961-1989

 

Size of Collection: 53.0 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 93 legal size document cases and 5 oversized boxes.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence, legislative bills, newspaper clippings, government reports, photographs, scrapbooks and ephemera.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Organized into series. Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: Edward Thompson Breathitt was a state legislator and governor of Kentucky. He was born in Hopkinsville, Kentucky on November 26, 1924. He attended local public schools and graduated from Hopkinsville High School in 1942. During the Second World War, he served in the United States Army Air Force. Following the war, Breathitt attended the University of Kentucky and received a Bachelor of Arts degree in business administration in 1948. In 1951, he was elected to the Kentucky House of Representatives where he served three consecutive terms. Breathitt was appointed State Personnel Commissioner in 1959 and later was a member of the Kentucky Public Service Commission. He was elected governor of Kentucky in 1962 and served a single term. After being governor, he became director of the Ford Foundation Institute for Rural America and was a founder of the Coalition for Rural America. He served on the board of regents for both the University of Kentucky and Morehead State University and received an honorary doctorate from Murray State University. He died on October 14, 2003.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of correspondence, newspaper clippings, news releases and bills and resolutions from the Kentucky State House of Representatives and Senate accumulated by Edward T. Brethitt from 1961 to 1989. The collection also contains information on constitutional revision, state and county programs and departmental reports. Included in the papers are campaign speeches, scrapbooks, personal photographs, oral histories and correspondence from prominent state and national politicians.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Breathitt, Edward Thompson, 1924-2003

Politicians – Kentucky.

Legislators – Kentucky.

Governors – Kentucky.

Kentucky – Politics and government.

 

Additional Sources: See The Public Papers of Governor Edward T. Breathitt edited by Kenneth E. Harrell.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152