Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-16 Ouida Jewell Scrapbook: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Ouida Jewell Scrapbooks

Collection Title: Ouida Jewell Scrapbooks

 

Series Number: MS10-16

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Dieter C. Ullrich

 

Date Listed: April 14, 2010

 

Date Span: 1942-1968

 

Size of Collection: 3.0 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 5 oversized ledger boxes.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence.

 

Condition of Material: Fair with foxing and fading caused by exposure to acid adhesives and improper storage.

 

Arrangement: Organized by creator. Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: Ouida Jewell was a radio broadcaster, freelance writer and correspondent for the Louisville Courier Journal, Memphis Commercial Appeal, Paducah Sun-Democrat, Fulton Daily Leader, and Fulton County News. She was born in Dublin, Kentucky in 1923. Her family relocated to Fulton in 1935. She attended local public schools and graduated from Fulton High School in 1941. She later attended the University of Tennessee at Martin, Murray State University and George Washington University. Her weekly column entitled “Backward Glance” contained historical information on the Jackson Purchase area of Kentucky, particularly the counties of Hickman and Fulton.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of newspaper clippings of the column “Backward Glance” along with other articles written by Ouida Jewell from 1942 to 1968. Scrapbooks contain correspondences related to the newspaper industry in Kentucky, inquiries and orders concerning her books, church bulletins, event programs, postcards, travel brochures, hotel receipts, membership cards, ephemera and other family papers belonging to and collected by Jewell.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Jewell, Ouida, 1923-1991

Jewell, family.

Jackson Purchase (Ky.) – History

Women journalists – Kentucky – Fulton County.

Women in journalism – Kentucky – 20th century.

 

Additional Sources: See “From my Scrapbook”, 1956-1957 and Backward Glance by Ouida Jewell.

 

Research Notes: Collection can also be found on microfilm at MF383 and MF377.

 

 

Box List:

Box 1

1. Ouida Jewell Fulton County News editor. 1957-1967. Labelled by Jewell 6-76

2. Ouida Jewell Scrapbooks, 1942-1968

Box 2

1. Ouida Jewell Scrapbooks, 1942-1968

2. Ouida Jewell Scrapbooks, 1942-1968

Box 3

1. Ouida Jewell Scrapbooks, 1942-1968

2. Ouida Jewell Scrapbooks, 1942-1968

Box 4

1. Ouida Jewell Scrapbooks, 1942-1968

2. Ouida Jewell Scrapbooks, 1942-1968

Box 5

1. Ouida Jewell Scrapbooks, 1942-1968

2. Ouida Jewell Scrapbooks, 1942-1968

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152