Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-15 Fred G. Neuman Scrapbook: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Fred G. Neuman Scrapbook

Collection Title: Fred G. Neuman Scrapbook
 
Series Number: 10-15
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Dieter C. Ullrich
 
Date Listed: March 30, 2010
 
Date Span: 1931-1934
 
Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes: 2 file folders. 2 items.
 
Type of Material: Scrapbooks.
 
Condition of Material: Good.
 
Arrangement: Arranged by author.
 
Biographical / Historical Information: Fred G. Neuman was an author and columnist from Paducah, Kentucky. He was born in Paducah on December 22, 1893. He attended local public schools and served in the United States Army during the First World War. Following the war, he began writing and contributed historical and literary articles to newspapers and magazines. Neuman is the author of The Story of Paducah, Paducahans in History and two biographies on Irvin S. Cobb. Cobb called Neuman “Paducah’s most useful citizen”. He died in 1953.
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of a photocopied scrapbook containing a series of articles by columnist Fred G. Neuman titled “Do you remember way back when?” The scrapbook was compiled by John T. Donovan from September of 1931 to December of 1934. The bulk of the articles include short stories on the history of Paducah, Kentucky and the Jackson Purchase. The collection also contains a photocopied notebook of research notes and materials.
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
Neuman, Fred Gus, 1893-1953
Paducah (Ky.) – History.
Folklore – Kentucky – Paducah.
Jackson Purchase (Ky. ) – History.
 
Additional Sources: See Story of Paducah and Paducahans in History by Fred G. Neuman.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152