Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-13 Thomas - Stiles Family Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Thomas - Stiles Family Papers

Collection Title: Thomas - Stiles Family Papers

 

Series Number: MS10-13

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Dieter C. Ullrich

 

Date Listed: March 29, 2010

 

Date Span: 1857-1946 (bulk 1860-1876)

 

Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 3 file folders.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence and family history.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: The Thomas family of Nelson County, Kentucky dates to when Benjamin Thomas settled near Bloomfield in 1806. In the years prior to the American Civil War, the Thomas family owned a substantial amount of property and over one hundred slaves. Washington Thomas, the son of Benjamin, married Susan Ann Stiles of McLean County, Kentucky in 1844.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of photocopied transcripts of letters written by the Stiles family of Calhoun and Thomas family of Bloomfield, Kentucky from 1860 to 1876. The correspondence contains details on guerrilla and partisan activities during the later part of the American Civil War and the reconstruction era that followed in Nelson County, Kentucky. Included in the collection are photocopied maps of the region, research notes and a family history.    

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Thomas family.

Stiles family.

Bloomfield (Ky.) – Family and personal papers.

Calhoun (Ky.) – Family and personal papers.

Nelson County (Ky.) – Family and personal papers.

Kentucky – History – Civil War, 1861-1865 – Personal narratives.

Reconstruction – Kentucky – Nelson County.

 

Additional Sources: See Bloomfield Chaplin and Fairfield: A History and Genealogy of Northeastern Nelson County, Kentucky by Robert P. Moore.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152