Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-12 Jackson Purchase Primitive Baptists Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Jackson Purchase Primitive Baptists Papers

Collection Title: Jackson Purchase Primitive Baptists Papers

 

Series Number: 10-12

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Dieter C. Ullrich

 

Date Listed: March 29, 2010

 

Date Span: 1874-1901

 

Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 file folder. 6 items.

 

Type of Material: Minutes.

 

Condition of Material: Fair with some fading and foxing due to aging.

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: Primitive Baptists began to establish houses of worship in the Jackson Purchase area of Kentucky and Tennessee in the early 1820s.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of the published annual meeting minutes of the Bethel Association and Philesic Association of the Primitive Baptist Church held in the Jackson Purchase region of Kentucky from 1874 to 1901. The collection contains the meeting minutes of the Philesic Associating held at Sandy Branch, Tennessee in 1901 and 1903 and the Bethel Association meetings at Brush Creek, Kentucky in 1874, Blooming Grove, Tennessee in 1890, Mud Creek, Kentucky in 1891 and Concord, Tennessee in 1894.   

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Primitive Baptists – Kentucky – History.

Primitive Baptists – Tennessee – History.

Philesic Association of Primitive Baptists (Sandy Branch, Tenn.)

Bethel Association of Regular Primitive Baptists (Jackson Purchase, Ky.)

Sandy Branch (Tenn.)

Brush Creek (Ky.)

Blooming Grove (Tenn.)

Mud Creek (Ky.)

Concord (Tenn.)

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152