Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-07 Murray Male and Female Institute Papers: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Murray Male and Female Institute Papers

Collection Title: Murray Male and Female Institute Papers
 
Series Number: 10-07
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Dieter C. Ullrich
 
Date Listed: March 22, 2010
 
Date Span: 1872-1904
 
Size of Collection: 0.25 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes: 1 letter half sized document case.
 
Type of Material: Newspaper clippings and ephemera.
 
Condition of Material: Fair with some fading due improper storage.
 
Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.
 
Biographical / Historical Information: The Murray Male and Female Institute was established in Murray, Kentucky by an act of the State Legislature in 1870. It was not until July 26, 1871 that a building was proposed for construction. The school was constructed at the corner of Eighth and Main streets and opened its doors for business in September of 1872. On the night of January 17, 1904, the Institute burned to the ground. The faculty and students met at an empty factory building during the 1905 school year. Murray High School was erected upon the same site as the Institute the following year.
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of histories, newspaper clippings and ephemera related to the Murray Male and Female Institute of Murray, Kentucky from 1872 to 1904. The collection contains catalogs, information guides, class lists, certificates and other printed materials generated by the Institute.
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
Murray Male and Female Institute (Murray, Ky.) – History.
Murray (Ky.) – History.
Schools – Kentucky – Murray.
 
Additional Sources: See A History of Murray Male and Female Institute by Modest Clark.
 
Box List

Box 1

  1. Catalogs 1879-1880
  2. Catalogs 1889-1890
  3. Catalogs 1892-1893
  4. Catalogs 1898-1899
  5. Catalogs 1900-1901
  6. Certificates 1872-1873
  7. Ephemera 1880’s- 1890’s
  8. Catalog 1904
  9. Histories
  10. Newspaper Clippings
 

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152