Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-06 Spot Fontaine Terrell Diary: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Spot Fontaine Terrell Diary

Collection Title: Spot Fontaine Terrell Diary

 

Series Number: 10-06

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Dieter C. Ullrich

 

Date Listed: March 22, 2010

 

Date Span: 1862

 

Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 file folder. 1 item.

 

Type of Material: Diary.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: Spot Fontaine Terrell was believed to be a resident of Montgomery County, Tennessee prior to the American Civil War. He joined Company H, 49th Tennessee Infantry Regiment at Fort Donelson on December 24, 1861. He witnessed combat at Fort Donelson and was imprisoned for several months at Camp Douglas, Illinois.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of transcribed excerpts of a diary written by Spot Fontaine Terrell during the spring and fall of 1862. The diary contains descriptions of the 49th Tennessee Infantry Regiment’s activities before, during and after the capture of Fort Donelson. It also includes information on the paroling of Confederate prisoners from Camp Douglas, Illinois, the prisoner exchange at Vicksburg, Mississippi and the regiment’s reorganization in September of 1862.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Terrell, Spot Fontaine

Confederate States of America. Army. Tennessee Infantry Regiment, 49th. Company H.

United States – History – Civil War, 1861-1865 – Personal narratives, Confederate.

United States – History – Civil War, 1861-1865 – Prisoners and prisons.

Fort Donelson, Battle of, Tenn., 1862.

Camp Douglas (Ill.)

 

Additional Sources: See American Historical Review, Vol.31, No. 3 (April, 1926), pp. 477-484.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152