Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-04 John Henry Letter: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(270)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

John Henry letter

Collection Title: John Henry Letter

 

Series Number: 10-04

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Dieter C. Ullrich

 

Date Listed: March 19, 2010

 

Date Span: 1821

 

Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 file folder. 1 item.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence.

 

Condition of Material: Good.

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: John Henry was a resident of Golconda, Illinois in the 1820s.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of a photocopied letter from John Henry to his mother Elizabeth Roberts Henry of Logan County, Kentucky on October 14, 1821. The letter describes a property dispute between the author and David S. Taylor and the “unworthy” religious institutions that existed in Golconda.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Golconda (Ill.) – History.

Golconda (Ill.) – Religion.

Henry, John

Henry, Elizabeth Roberts

Taylor, David S.

 

Additional Sources:

 

Research Notes: Collection originally located in MS76-06. Original is owned by M. C. Henry of Murray, Kentucky. Photocopy donated by owner in 1981.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152