Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-03 Sixteenth (16th) Illinois Infantry Regiment Letter: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

16th Illinois Infantry Regiment Letter

Collection Title: Sixteenth (16th) Illinois Infantry Regiment Letter

 

Series Number: 10-03

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Dieter C. Ullrich

 

Date Listed: March 19, 2010

 

Date Span: 1862

 

Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 1 file folder. 1 item.

 

Type of Material: Correspondence.

 

Condition of Material: Fair with minor fading.

 

Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: The author of the letter is known only as “Frank”. However, names mentioned in the letter are associated with the 16th Illinois Infantry Volunteers which were stationed near New Madrid, Missouri during the time of the letter’s creation.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of letter written by a soldier of the 16th Illinois Infantry Regiment to his wife from Bird’s Point, Missouri on March 12, 1862. The letter describes the author’s time spent at Bird’s Point due to a case of the “mumps”. He also mentions the build-up of Union forces near New Madrid and the Confederates fortifying and evacuating Island No. 10.

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

Bird’s Point (Mo.)

United States. Army. Illinois Infantry Regiment, 16th (1861-1865)

United States – History – Civil War, 1861-1865 – Personal narratives.

 

Additional Sources:

 

Research Notes: Collection found with MS76-06 under the title “Frank”. A receipt in folder states the letter was purchased on March 7, 1985 from “Heflin”. Provenance is unknown.

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152