Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-02 W. L. Utley Letter: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

W. L. Utley Letter

Collection Title: W. L. Utley Letter
 
Series Number: 10-02
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Originally processed by Keith M. Heim in July of 1976. Reprocessed by Dieter C. Ullrich on March 19, 2010.
 
Date Listed: March 19, 2010
 
Date Span: 1861
 
Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes: 1 file folder. 1 item.
 
Type of Material: Correspondence.
 
Condition of Material: Fair with foxing and fading of document.
 
Arrangement: Chronological arrangement.
 
Biographical / Historical Information: W. L. Utley was born on January 23, 1842 in Denmark, Tennessee. He joined the 6th Tennessee Infantry Regiment at Jackson, Tennessee in May of 1861. He was given the rank of First Corporal in June. His regiment first moved to Union, Tennessee, then to New Madrid, Missouri and to Columbus, Kentucky prior to the Battle of Belmont. He survived the war and died on July 1, 1920 in Jackson, Tennessee.
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of a letter written by W. L. Utley to Jennie Alexander, his aunt, on December 8, 1861 from Columbus, Kentucky. He describes the battle at Belmont, Missouri on November 7, witnessing the C.S.S. Manassas at Columbus and mentions the increased number of sick men within his company.
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
Utley, William L.,
Belmont, Battle of. Belmont, Mo., 1861
Columbus (Ky.) – History.
Confederate States of America. Army. Tennessee Infantry Regiment, 6th.
United States – History – Civil War, 1861-1865 – Personal narratives, Confederate.
 
Additional Sources: See W. L. Utley Papers, Navarro College Archives.

 

 

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152