Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS10-01 Lizzie Lowe Fuller Manuscript: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Lizzie Lowe Fuller Manuscript

Collection Title: Lizzie Lowe Fuller Manuscript
 
Series Number: 10-01
 
Processed and Cataloged by: Dieter C. Ullrich
 
Date Listed: March 8, 2010
 
Date Span: 1861-1865
 
Size of Collection: 0.10 linear feet.
 
Number of Boxes: 1 legal half size document case.
 
Type of Material: Memoir and correspondence.
 
Condition of Material: Fair with foxing and fading of documents.
 
Arrangement: Arranged by author.
 
Biographical / Historical Information: Lizzie Lowe Fuller was a lifelong resident of Mayfield, Kentucky. She was the president of the Mayfield Chapter of the United Daughters of the Confederacy. She was an influential figure in the promotion and construction of the Confederate Memorial before the Graves County court house in 1917 and the Confederate Monument at Camp Beauregard, near Water Valley, in 1920.
 
Scope and Content: Collection consists of a typescript manuscript written by Lizzie Lowe Fuller in 1932 that describes the history of the Confederate military base at Camp Beauregard, Kentucky from September of 1861 to March of 1862. The manuscript contains transcripts of letters from Civil War veterans who responded to Fuller’s request for information on the encampment. The manuscript also includes a list of officers and regiments that were stationed at Camp Beauregard, the initiative of the United Daughters of the Confederacy to construct a monument at Camp Beauregard and Fuller’s recollections of stories told to her by family members who survived the Civil War.    
 
Subject Headings / Descriptors:
            Camp Beauregard (Ky.) – History.
            Graves County (Ky.) – History.
            Water Valley (Ky.)
            Soldiers’ monuments – Kentucky – Graves County.
            War memorials – Kentucky – Graves County.
            Cemeteries – Kentucky – Graves County.
           
Additional Sources: See A History of Camp Beauregard, Graves County, Kentucky by the Sons of Confederate Veterans, Tilgh-Beauregard Camp No. 1460.
 
Research Notes: Photocopies are restricted due to fragile state of original.
 
Provenance: Donated by Evelyn Fuller Williams

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152