Skip to main content
University Libraries
MSU Home | myGate | RacerNet | Canvas
Facebook Twitter Google Plus Youtube Instagram Pinterest

MS03-01 Graves County Chapter - United Daughters of the Confederacy Records: Home

Address Information

Murray State University

200 Pogue Library

Murray, Kentucky 42071

Phone & Fax Numbers

(207)809-6152

(270)809-4295

FAX (270)809-6153

Contact Special Collections via E-mail

Email us at:       msu.specialcollections@murraystate.edu  

Graves County Chapter - United Daughters of the Confederacy Records

Collection Title: Graves County Chapter - United Daughters of the Confederacy Records.

 

Series Number: MS03-01

 

Processed and Cataloged by: Reprocessed in July of 2010 by Sheree Wise.

 

Date Listed: July 14, 2010

 

Date Span: 1899-1969

 

Size of Collection: 3.0 linear feet.

 

Number of Boxes: 4 legal size document cases and 1 oversized box.

 

Type of Material: Minutes, correspondence, financial records and ephemera.

 

Condition of Material: Fair with foxing and fading of documents due to improper storage.

 

Arrangement: Organized into series; arranged by type and subject of material; Chronological arrangement.

 

Biographical / Historical Information: The Graves County Chapter of the United Daughters of the Confederacy was organized on November 29, 1899 in Mayfield, Kentucky. The chapter was chartered by the Kentucky Division of the organization on December 7, 1899. The chapter remained in existence until the late 1960s when declining membership led to its termination. The charter was responsible for the construction of the Confederate Memorial before the Graves County court house in 1917 and the Confederate Monument at Camp Beauregard, near Water Valley, in 1920.

 

Scope and Content: Collection consists of meeting minutes of the Graves County Chapter of the United Daughters of the Confederacy from 1899 to 1968. The collection contains the organization’s correspondence, scrapbooks, yearbooks, financial records, applications and petitions for membership, membership lists and related ephemera printed by the state division and local chapter. Included in the collection are eligibility certificates, veteran biographies and lists of recipients of the Southern Cross of Honor for Graves County, Kentucky.  

 

Subject Headings / Descriptors:

United Daughters of the Confederacy. Kentucky Division. Graves County Chapter.

Kentucky – History – Civil War, 1861-1865.

United States – History – Civil War, 1861-1865.

Graves County (Ky.) – History.

Camp Beauregard (Ky.)

War memorials – Kentucky – Graves County.

Veterans – Kentucky – Graves County.        

 

Additional Sources: See also Lizzie Lowe Fuller Manuscript - MS10-01.

 

Research Notes: Copy restrictions apply due to the deteriorating condition of some materials. The published minutes of the Kentucky Division of the United Daughters of the Confederacy from 1899 to 1984 (incomplete set) have been removed from the collection and placed in Special Collections.

 

Collection Inventory for MS03-01

Inventory of Collection
MS 03-01
United Daughters of the Confederacy
Graves County Chapter
By Sheree Wise
July 14, 2010
Box 1
1. A History of Camp Beauregard
2. Baby Roll of Monument Fund, 1913-1914
3. Biographies and tributes, 1864-1929
4. By-laws/ Constitution
5. Cardinal Chirps. 1953
6. Correspondence, 1938-1969
7. Financial Information, 1945-1952
8. Loose papers found in history book, Ca. 1900
9. History, Ca.1900
10. Loose papers found in Historians book, 1917-1919
11. Historians book, 1917-1919
12. Hypnotist, 1967
13. Magazine, 1945-1946
14. Members and dues book
 
Box 2
1.      Loose papers from Dues book, 1910-1914
2.      Dues, 1910-1914
3.      Loose papers from minutes book, 1913-1915
4.      Minutes book, 1913-1915
5.      Loose papers from dues/ Meeting minutes, 1915-1918
6.      Meeting minutes/ Dues, 1915-1918
7.      Loose papers found in minutes book, 1920-1921
8.      Minutes, 1920-1921
9.      Loose papers found with minutes, 1921-1925
10.  Minutes book, 1921-1925
11.  Loose papers from meeting minutes book, 1925-1939
12.  Meeting minutes, 1925-1939
13.  Loose papers from meeting minutes,1940-1946
14.  Meeting minutes, 1934-1946
15.  Loose papers from meeting minutes, 1946-1950
16.  Meeting minutes, 1946-1950
17.  Loose papers found in meeting minutes, 1951-1953
18.  Meeting minutes, 1951-1953
19.  Meeting minutes, 1958-1959
 
Box 3
1.      Meeting minutes, 1959-1960
2.      Meeting notes, 1936-1968
3.      Members book, 1912-1917
4.      Miscellaneous
5.      Miscellaneous newspaper clippings
6.      Membership application, 1908-1968
7.      Membership application ledger
 
Box 4
1.      Veterans and members buried at Maplewood.
2.      Robert E. Lee memorial
3.      Roster and tax list, 1953
4.      Newspaper clippings
5.      Noted women of Southern history
6.      The Houston Chronicle, 1945
7.      Transfer forms
8.      Loose papers found in secretary book, 1899-1907
9.      Recording secretary book, 1899-1907
10.  Loose papers found in secretary book, 1918-1935
11.  Secretary book,  1918-1920
12.  Loose papers from scrapbook, 1915-1989
13.  Scrapbook, 1841-1908
14.  Scrapbook, 1915-1989
15.  Southern Cross of Honor
16.  Treasures book, 1901-1908
17.  Yearbooks, 1920-1964
 
Box 5
1.      Miscellaneous items

Special Collections & University Archives

LaDonna Hamontree's picture
LaDonna Hamontree
Contact:
270-809-6152